The Bottled Wealth Holding (TBW Corp)

I received a call from a telemarketer , inviting me for a wine tasting session and to learn about wine. I declined, and she offered the carrot – Rm200 Isetan shopping voucher for just sitting through the one hour plus presentation. Okayyyyy….I don’t mind an RM200 voucher…:) Then she mumbled something about wine investment but assured that I am not obligated to buy anything. Just go,listen and get Rm200 vouchers. Cool.

The appointment was made for 2pm. I had a full morning meeting. OMG she called like 9 times to reconfirm even though I texted her to say I will come. Really got me irritated. The venue was at the posh office in Menara UOA in Bangsar. I brought a friend along in case I go crazy and spend money which I don’t have.

We were attended to in a few minutes by a young lady who could not decide if she wants to speak Chinese of English. Excuse me , sorry I don’t really speak Chinese. she went on to make some small talk about this and that till I have to ask her to please get on with the presentation.

Then she showed us this display, which was pretty impressive.She placed a metallic bottle of wine in the center of the drawing and viola, take a look at the reflection on the bottle ! Cool ! Can we start the presentation now please?

image

Presentation started with a run down of types of wine and what is fine wine. Anyway the gist of it was that they help investors to buy fine wine, store them and auction them in Hong Kong or Shanghai for a profit and ROI of about 15% was offered. The wines will be kept in Singapore.

Can we drink the wine if we want to – oh yeah, sure , it means less/no returns.

Minimum investment was RM15,000 . Ok , that’s not too painful. So how many bottles of wine do I get for RM15,000 ? Er….not sure. She wanted to ask the manager to come talk to me if I was serious. No, no , no I am not serious, I just wanted to know how many bottles of wine will I get. She was flustered.

Would I like some wine now – just table wine,not fine wine. Oh yeah , sure. So we all had some red wine.

Oh , and then there is also fine rum , but only for members who have invested in the wine. Oh ok, I cheekily suggested that I would have been more interested in the rum. Oh that can be arranged , she said. Really, I thought she said only for members .:)

She then offered a rum investment specially for me for only Rm8,000. Okayyyyyyy….(I gotta get out now)

Thing is I MUST sign up NOW. Now, today. Nope I have to think about it ,I told her. No deal. Must sign now. No more offer after i leave. She said please talk to my manager.

The manager came over but was rushing cos the other table of people were signing up.

I just told him straight that I declined the deal. He said Ok and handed me the vouchers.

Thanks and good bye.

Would you have invested?

These might help you make a decision:

http://www.complaintsboard.com/byurl/tbwcorp.com.html
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3264959/all

In Malaysia the Company is known as TBW Corp

TBW

 

 

Rating: 5/10

Cheers.

#thebottledwealth #wineinvestment

184 thoughts on “The Bottled Wealth Holding (TBW Corp)

  1. This is a SCAM company. I’ve invested about S$10,000 more than an year ago. They promised 18% returns in 6 months. But, after every 6 months, they kept on calling me, giving some excuse that wine can’t be sold. But to maximize the profit, asked me to top up the investment. Twice I topped it up with S$2000 each time. Now, they are giving excuse that China has banned auctioning of wines and hence my wines can’t be sold.

    They are a bunch of jokes from west in sales department, who fool locals with their western English accent. PLEASE DON’T TRUST THEM. DON’T INVEST in this bloody company. Keep your earnings safe in bank.

    1. Hi Ravi,
      I don’t think that you will ever get back your money.
      I have also invested $2k with them & now they say that they cannot sell & the profit which they initially mentioned was based on the projected sale.
      They were insisting me to transfer my invested amount from Wine to Rum, but for that I had to put in another $3k. They will show that this is full proof & on a written contract. I read the whole contract and it is such a bull shit that I feel that how I initially came into their trap.
      I mentioned that I am not gonna put another dollar in your bs scheme but they kept on insisting that in that case I will not only loose my investment but may also have to pay $4-5k to cwt for storage fee.
      I am not sure on the fee to at least take my bottles back, as I am sure they will never return even my principal amount, forget about the profit.
      I am also thinking to lodge a police complaint & possibly file the case in Small claims tribunal, but before I do that I just want to assure if the bottled which I bought are actually kept at wine vault or even that was a scam too.

      1. Oh dear ! I did ask them how many bottles I would be entitled to and they could not answer me .That triggered off of a lot of alarm bells!

      2. Hi Vikram, like my case, the bottles that you bought probably does not exist at all.
        Even if they do have the bottles in their CWT warehouse, they are all under the name of the company. CWT will not allow you access as you are not the owner.
        Some investors had already checked with CWT and was told this is the case. Without the permission of The Bottled Wealth, CWT would not give anybody access to the wine.

    2. Hi Ravi, Oh yes, this is for sure a scam company. But I was conned in a different manner.
      Last October, I bought 66 bottle of 2013 Hewitson The Mother Vine from the retail shop called Emily’s Fine Wine Pte Ltd for my own consumption. After paying the full amount, the manager, Peter Jensen, told me that I can only take delivery or view my wine at their warehouse four to six weeks later. According to Peter, his company is in the process of migrating their entire wine stock to a very new and high tech warehouse. I did not hear from this guy for the next three months after that. Then suddenly one Mark Herd called me one day claiming he is the new manager taking over Peter. Mark told me they had completed the wine migration and I can view my stock from February onward. Immediately after telling me the “good news”, Mark proposed to buy back my wine with some profit. But the condition is I must use the proceeds plus another ten thousand dollars to buy another lot of “better” wine. I declined. Then about a week later, Mark called and gave me another similar proposal but with different type of wine. By then I already smell something fishy.
      After turned down his second proposal, one Alvin Lim called me. At first he also tried to sell me some “better quality” wine in exchange for my first purchase but I must top up more money. When I rejected his proposal again, he started raising his voice and became very rude. When I insisted to see my wine in their warehouse, he sarcastically told me, I am only here to help you, since you refuse my help, then I can only tell you you will never get to see your wine for the next two to three years.
      I then engaged a lawyer to start legal action against Emily’s for non delivery. They continue to ignore my lawyer’s demand letter until my lawyer threaten to get a court order to force the director to attend court to show their account books and explain why they are not paying. I finally received my full refund plus all my legal costs from them.
      My friend also help me to check with the Hewitson producer in Australia. The owner, Mr Dean Hewitson, said he never sold any wine to Emily’s. In fact, when Emily’s sold me the 66 bottle last year, these wine were not even been bottled and sold in the market yet.
      The owner of Emily’s Fine Wine, Mr Mata, a citizen of Dominican Republic is definitely had committed a fraud by selling me wine that he did not even own.

      1. Hello Hau Tau,

        I’m in a similar situation as you. Invested about $5k last yr. never heard from them since despite repeated emails and calls and changes in the portfolio Mgr. Finally just a few wks back they offered to take back the wine portfolio and replace it with rum.
        If you don’t mind, could you pls email me at manob.gupta@gmail.com?

        Thanks,

      2. Hi,

        I got the same situation from you, I bought from TWB company. I have been contacting different people as they keep changing people or giving me excuses that they are at overseas.

        Can I contact you for some help?

  2. Yes bunch of hi-fi jokers who is agn taking the name of China collapse to convince customers to invest agn.
    Afer so much of argument, they gave me exit plan.. 14% of what I invested ..means with 86% of loss. I agreed for this but agn i have to wait some paper work ,not sure if that is fake agn. No option to take my bottle also as I may have to pay more than value of bottles including tax and storage rentals as per them..
    Bad and costly investment experience…

  3. Hi all,

    I’m also a victim from Malaysia here. Invested 48 bottles 2013 Hewitson The Mother Vine 750ml at RM11,232.00 on 11th Oct 2014 under this company name Exquisite Bottle Index Sdn Bhd ( I believe its under The Bottled Wealth Holdings ) When I go to their KL office and decided to sell off the wines, they told me the same story as Mr.Ravi here about China banning auction for wines, control alcohol consumption and bla bla bla. They also persuaded me to convert this existing wine investment into the Rum investment which I don’t believe them anymore. I am planning to make a police report and I’m asking here is there any Malaysian victims as well? Maybe anyone here can guide how to tackle this matters? Please contact me via email : mikekee74@yahoo.com, so that we can go together to report this scam company. Thanks for reading

    1. Sorry to hear about that Mike. Yes , you should get together and report them . But do make a Police report . I think you should also report to the Consumer Association ?

      National Consumers Complaints Center

      1. Thanks El Rev,

        Will gather all evidence including printing out complains from website and my documents to report police. Now I hope that any Malaysian victim here join with me to report them. I can be reach at email : mikekee74@yahoo.com and I will PM my handphone number to any victim that want to report with me together. Thanks again your help El Rev

        1. Yes , do that. Hope it will save other innocent victims from this. I will see what I can do on my end to bring in more “victims” .

    2. Hi , i;m too the victim from Malaysia invested RM16K for 72 bottles 2013 Hewitson at first in Sept 2014. All the same promises of return of 15%.There after sometime in Dec 2014 the Wine Consultant was offered me to switch the wine to another brand which they claim is going for auction at Shanghai sometime In April 2015 . And was asked to top up the differences, which i did. Sometime in May 2015 i called up to check the status, i was told that the auction was postponed to year end. Then i felt is something wrong going on. I told them that i wanted to sell those wines and get back my money. Then they offer me to switch again to RUM. I said no.. Return all my investment. The argument was going on and now things happen like this.
      Pls share if you guys have any update.
      I suggest why don’t we engage a lawyer and go after the company since Singapore still operating.

      Manny

    1. Well,the Ministry will take more notice if there are numbers. I received another invitation from them just 2 days ago. So they are still active at it.

      1. Please, everybody, we need to do something about it. I’ve been thru with all that you guys have been and I was given no choice and have to change my portfolio of wine to rum and top up with another RM7,000. I told the manager I have no confidence at all now with the company and wanted my money back even if I have no profit at all but was declined giving all kinds of excuses.

        1. I am also a victim. Discovered yesterday when I received a call from LONDON from a Val, who claimed her company has almost 1000 victims on their list.
          They will represent us and are confident of winning cos the legal from has a track record of success.
          Any one received such a call. I am supposed to go to Singapore to physically register my claim.

          1. Hi Lena , do check out the authenticity of Val though and how much they charge. Would you like to give us the contact/email so that the others can also enquire with her? thanks

          2. Lena,

            I got the call and went to Sg. First they asked me to fill up the questionnaire and form for the refund and tell you what the wine company had did to cheat investor money. Then few British start selling their property investment. They told me they will buy over our wine investment with the top up of certain amount of SGD for their property investment. They told me that bottled wealth will soon send us a bill of SGD 6,000 as they are moving their warehouse from SG to M’sia but if you sell ur wine investment to them they will bear all ur liability but if u didnt u still liable to the liability although u get ur refund because u have to bear the cost of ur wine. I am not sure whether u all received any bill from them or not but i didnt. Then they say soon u will received and more to receive. I am not sure whether the refund is genuine and how true is the story.
            BTW i google the property investment and it is another scam.

          3. Yes we actually went down to Singapore. They offered to file the claim for us . Invited us to do investment n so have to pay extra. I believe that is scam also. So no need to go.scam upon scam.real rascals please dont get cheated into it.

          4. Hi Lena

            I too received a call from Val (representing ITRA). I made an appointment and went down to register. The registration was very straightforward. (check out http://www.itra.net) ITRA wants to gather all the victims and launch a class action suit against TBW. (NO WIN NO FEES is their moto, however if the case wins then there is a fee of 40% of compensation awarded.) Compensation can be higher than investment. One word of caution, the representative is only providing consultation and administrative service to ITRA for a fee (5% of compensation awarded) The representative is independent of ITRA, and they try to sell their property using your wine/rum porfolio as downpayment. (subject to approval). Do NOT TAKE THIS OPTION!! Just register your claim and hope for the best like i did.

            PS. I am a VICTIM of TBW.

            Rgds
            M.Siva

      2. Are they still around conning others? We invested quite an amount too and till today no news. We need to find them and demand our money back.

  4. Hi, I’m the victim also, i bought from 2014 from the bottle wealth holding (TBW Corp) Bangsar….. Pls advice, i do not what to do…..

    1. Hi I’m Sitharam here from Penang.
      I bought my wine last year 2015 February and try to call office and the broker, unreachable. Need help.

      1. Regus receptionist said they’ve already cabut-disappeared without notice.
        Not sure if their Bangsar HQ still operation or not.
        Perhaps anyone from KL could provide us some updates?

      2. Hi, I’m Koay from Penang. I Bought my wine from them July 2015. Called their PG, KL & S’pore – no answer. Need help. Please contact me. want to make police report.

    2. Hi Sue, I’m from Penang & was conned too. Am going to make police report tomorrow. Contact me if you also want to do it together.
      koay

  5. Hi , went up to their office last week . Closed .phone lines disconnected .. Mike and Simon phones no longer active . ..MIA..
    Have anyone make police report ?
    Can we get our money back ?

  6. Would you guys like to create a yahoo group to connect and help each other out? I could start that for you as I have your email addresses. please let me know. thanks.

    1. Hi, Rev:
      Yes,I would like to have it.
      I also bought their RUM last year in Singapore office, but I couldn’t reach any of them now. What I know is that they have moved their office to another building . So anyone knows their new office ? These are the 3 person from that company:

      Customer Care Director: Mark Herd
      Sales Director: Bryan Henry Wilson
      Broker: Anne Thomson Ormond

      1. Hello all

        New address :The Botol wine Holdings Samsung Hub Level 8 , Room 820 . 3 Gereja St , Singapore 049483 office +65 6408 3375 / 3376

        Please help me..i have planning to TBW office spore..but the office number unreachable..am from indonesia
        contact me at : cascade.qq@gmail.com
        FB: QQshenaga Xinaga
        Add me to group FB or Yahoo
        Thankyou

  7. Hi everyone,
    I am Kathy, and I guess we are all being conned by this TBW and I am from Penang. I have been chasing them for the dividends after for the past months and the one person whom I managed to engage is Eric Low who kept telling me that he is still waiting for the cheques from KL. Until today, I was told by him this company closed shop and all those mat salleh all kaput. Yes, we should form a group to lodge. Maybe we should start a FB group which would be easier for connect with each other. My FB account is Kathy Goon

  8. i have the same issue, bought 66 wines last year feb at Menara UOA. after 3 months after i filed for a dispute against the sales of product under “non delivery of items”. I received confirmation of that the wines exist, and went down to singapore to verify in CWT (Took pictures as well). They then gave me 1 cheque and never to be heard of again. got back only 400 of my 13.5k

    My mail is the_bamb@hotmail.com

    1. Hi All,
      I understand there is a group chat being set up in WhatsApp for all the victims. At this time, it is best we gather our strength together and go to the media if we have to to expose them and consider seeking legal advice against these scumbags. Please add me if the group is created. my contact is 012-4184001… Many thanks..

  9. Have you guys received any calls from a lady by the named of Valerie claiming from International Timeshare Refund Action ,London regards to this bottle wealth. Is seems they will help us to on this matter. Many victims from Malaysia has engaged them .
    Pls share
    Manny

    1. I too received a call from Val (representing ITRA). I made an appointment and went down to register. The registration was very straightforward. (check out http://www.itra.net) ITRA wants to gather all the victims and launch a class action suit against TBW. (NO WIN NO FEES is their moto, however if the case wins then there is a fee of 40% of compensation awarded.) Compensation can be higher than investment. One word of caution, the representative is only providing consultation and administrative service to ITRA for a fee (5% of compensation awarded) The representative is independent of ITRA, and they try to sell their property using your wine/rum porfolio as downpayment. (subject to approval). Do NOT TAKE THIS OPTION!! Just register your claim and hope for the best like i did.

      PS. I am a VICTIM of TBW.

      Rgds
      M.Siva

  10. My lawyer told me if more than three people we can report to police. Can we have a whatsapp? Add me +65 90015368. We need get together to get our money back and let them not do that thing any more!!!

  11. Hi guys! We all have been conned ! Now the clown Val & gang are trying to con us another round. Confirmed she is a fraud ! As for TBW , Simon has been giving me the run around & that they are re-locating their offices!
    Has anyone initiated legal action?

    Nesh

  12. Hi folks, we need to set up a FB group or something. I know Where they are and what they are doing now. Who has reported this to the police in Singapore? Any solicitor handling a case against them?

  13. Hi we going to lodge Police report on Saturday 20th February 2016 – 6:30PM at Balai Polis Patani Road Penang. Any victim from Penang can joint us.

      1. Hi Rev, i’m another investor, 15k. Can you please add me to the group, not sure what to do or how to proceed in getting back my money. Thanks.

        1. Hi Clarance,invitation to the Yahoo Group TBW Support has been sent. You can also whatssapp +6590015368 to join the whatsapp group. Have you made a police report?

      2. Hi, please add me to the TBW Support group as I’m also a victim of this wine investment scheme and I’m helpless now. Tks.

        1. Hi Lep cheh,invitation to the Yahoo Group TBW Support has been sent. You can also whatssapp +6590015368 to join the whatsapp group. Tks

  14. Hi, i set up the whatapp group +6590015368 for singapore victim group, pls contact me ans join our group to get back our money!!!

    1. Hi Vianna,
      Please add me to the Singapore support group. I tried adding u in watsapp but couldn’t. Thank u.
      Paul
      97902317

          1. Hi Owen, invitation to the Yahoo Group TBW Support has been sent. you can also whatssapp +6590015368 to join the whatsapp group. tks

  15. Hi All, pls add me in the victim group Kennixpjs@yahoo.com/ 016-2029459
    From KL,Malaysia.

    Im checking where they go ,heard that they change name and product but still somewhere in KL.
    Keep in touch for more group action.
    Thank you.

      1. hi, I’m also the victim by this company. My email is pat_limcc@yahoo.com. After I read this comment, try to call my portfolio manager namely Jack Daigle & TBW office, the line was not in service. Thanks.

        1. Hi Pat, hv sent you invitation to join the Yahoo group TBW Support . you can also whatsapp +6590015368 to join the whatsapp group. tks.

          1. Sent a message to the above number. Also can you add me to the yahoo group – my email is reenam23@yahoo.co.in

            I invested in Rum few months back and went I tried to follow up with them for the interest payment I never received any call or email back.

  16. Dear all..recently I rcd a call from Valerie London phone nos of a class action lawsuits to TBW and I need to go to spore wt spouse to file this procedure..
    Can anyone confirm or rcd this invitation?
    Regards, Chan 0123739163

    1. I too received a call from Val (representing ITRA). I made an appointment and went down to register. The registration was very straightforward. (check out http://www.itra.net) ITRA wants to gather all the victims and launch a class action suit against TBW. (NO WIN NO FEES is their moto, however if the case wins then there is a fee of 40% of compensation awarded.) Compensation can be higher than investment. One word of caution, the representative is only providing consultation and administrative service to ITRA for a fee (5% of compensation awarded) The representative is independent of ITRA, and they try to sell their property using your wine/rum porfolio as downpayment. (subject to approval). Do NOT TAKE THIS OPTION!! Just register your claim and hope for the best like i did.

      PS. I am a VICTIM of TBW.

      Rgds
      M.Siva

    1. Hi Manny, invitation to the Yahoo Group TBW Support has been sent. you can also whatssapp +6590015368 to join the whatsapp group. tks

        1. Hi Liza, invitation to the Yahoo Group TBW Support has been sent. You can also whatssapp +6590015368 to join the whatsapp group. Tks

    1. Hi Mark, invitation to the Yahoo Group TBW Support has been sent. You can also whatssapp +6590015368 to join the whatsapp group. Tks

    1. Hi Gideon, invitation to the Yahoo Group TBW Support has been sent. You can also whatssapp +6590015368 to join the whatsapp group. Tks

  17. I’m victim from KL. I already added Vianna in Watsapp. Now waiting for reply. I hope we all can get back our money. I just realize this is this, so sad. I hope anyone can help me here.

  18. Hi Folks,
    i am a victim of this scam as well.
    Story is all similar to everyone was sold the 2013 Hewitson
    The Mother Vine Shiraz 750ml back in 2014.
    Can anyone please keep me in the loop?
    and ADD me in any of your Watsapp group 012 2147515
    for this case.

    my email : lingdavidking@hotmail.com

    1. Hi Mike,invitation to the Yahoo Group TBW Support has been sent. You can also whatssapp +6590015368 to join the whatsapp group. Tks

      1. Hi Koh,invitation to the Yahoo Group TBW Support has been sent. You can also whatssapp +6590015368 to join the whatsapp group. Tks

        1. Please include me in the support group.
          .I am retiree..cheated of my savings..by UOA Bangsar company.

          1. I’m Kenny from KL, another victim of the scam by TBW Bangsar. Pls add me in the yahoo group & the whapsapp group as well

      1. Hi ,invitation to the Yahoo Group TBW Support has been sent. You can also whatssapp +6590015368 to join the whatsapp group. Tks

    1. Please include me in the group…I am a retiree from kl, used my savings..similar case of being scammed..by company UOA Bangsar..only found out recently.

  19. My husband is also a victim of this scam. And we are still in the middle of it as we have been invited to Singapore n just learnt its a scam upon scam. Kindly add us to this TBW support group. Thank you.

  20. Hi
    Pls add me, I tried calling Simon Dyer – Customer service his line has been disengage and a Bangla is picking up the line. I believe I been cheated also.
    Pls add me in the group on Whatapps 0126010792 -Eric Soh

  21. Hi,
    Please add me in the loop. Invested about RM5k with Simon. Got a call for an investment preview. Confirmed to attend with no obligation. Will receive a voucher for RM50 + a bottle of wine. Returns of 20% of rum portfolio.
    Last contact with Simon in February 2016 and never received the voucher or wine and just found out that the whole thing is a scam today.
    Would like to know if can get anything back at all.

    1. I too received a call from Val (representing ITRA). I made an appointment and went down to register. The registration was very straightforward. (check out http://www.itra.net) ITRA wants to gather all the victims and launch a class action suit against TBW. (NO WIN NO FEES is their moto, however if the case wins then there is a fee of 40% of compensation awarded.) Compensation can be higher than investment. One word of caution, the representative is only providing consultation and administrative service to ITRA for a fee (5% of compensation awarded) The representative is independent of ITRA, and they try to sell their property using your wine/rum porfolio as downpayment. (subject to approval). Do NOT TAKE THIS OPTION!! Just register your claim and hope for the best like i did.

      PS. I am a VICTIM of TBW.

      Rgds
      M.Siva

    1. I too received a call from Val (representing ITRA). I made an appointment and went down to register. The registration was very straightforward. (check out http://www.itra.net) ITRA wants to gather all the victims and launch a class action suit against TBW. (NO WIN NO FEES is their moto, however if the case wins then there is a fee of 40% of compensation awarded.) Compensation can be higher than investment. One word of caution, the representative is only providing consultation and administrative service to ITRA for a fee (5% of compensation awarded) The representative is independent of ITRA, and they try to sell their property using your wine/rum porfolio as downpayment. (subject to approval). Do NOT TAKE THIS OPTION!! Just register your claim and hope for the best like i did.

      PS. I am a VICTIM of TBW.

      Rgds
      M.Siva

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *